On Writing

I’m not going to lie. I feel like I’m beginning to be known in the blogging world as the Sea Monkey girl. I say this like I get so many hits every day that I’m allowed to anoint myself with this title but seriously, who else do you know who’s gotten 175 hits from people searching the term “sea monkeys” in Google (or Yahoo or Bing or whatever it is that the kids are using these days)? I bet I’m the only one. Then again, I’m probably the only person you know who thought they were once small enough to swim inside a grandfather clock so I guess strangeness just goes with the territory.

This is not good...

On one hand I’m sorry that there are people out there who are genuinely interested in Sea Monkeys who thought they were going to get some valuable information because I don’t have much to offer. But on the other hand I’m glad that people have stumbled onto my blog. I hope that they like what they see and want to hang around for a while. That way, somewhere down the road I can pretend like I’m a real writer and I can sit on my ass in pajamas and drink coffee all day long while generating income though my writing.

The truth is that in spite of studying Accounting, I still really want to be a writer probably more than anything else in the world. But, hey, you know J.K. Rowling had some job before she wrote all those Harry Potter books and for right now I’m just trying to figure out something that can pay my bills until the writing gig takes off. Sorry, mom. I do like accounting. I just like writing more. That probably has a lot to do with the fact that I can do it while sitting on my ass at home in pajamas while drinking coffee.

The problem with me is that I go through long periods of writer’s block and I will sit and stare at the screen for a while trying desperately to get my thoughts in order so that I can write something. Then, after about five minutes or so I’ll say, “fuck it” and I’ll go play Luxor since I’m already on the laptop and all. Luxor is the greatest time-suckage of all time. I thought I had gotten to the last stage earlier tonight I was like, “Finally! Tonight I will beat Luxor!” and then I realized it keeps going on past level 12. Who knew? Interestingly, it was while I was playing Luxor that I was inspired to write my last blog which has absolutely nothing to do with Luxor, Egyptians, little colored balls, or video games. But I guess I felt relaxed enough while playing the game that I was able to think about something to write.

Is it possible that I’m a manic-depressive writer? I go through periods where I can’ think of a single thing to write about and then I go through other periods where it seems like the only thing I can do is write. This week has been like a dream for me on the writing front but a disaster in all other aspects because every time I get started on a project I get distracted by some idea and I’m like, “Must. Write. Now.” The ideas just keep popping into my head and I can’t make them stop. I’ve actually gotten to the point where I’m writing in Word and saving the things I write until a later date so I don’t have information overload on my poor 12 readers. I want to dole it out bit by bit. I’ve actually written almost 10,000 words this week alone though and that’s a scary thought because that works out to something like 32 pages in 12 pt. double-spaced printed paper. Seeing how I often struggled to make a paper with the topic of my choosing even ten pages while I was an English major, this surprises and almost disturbs me. What is it about this week that has made writing so effortless for me? I don’t understand it but I also don’t want it to go away. I like being able to write even if it comes at the expense of other things like, say, sleeping.

Okay, you know I’m into something if I said I’m able to do it in lieu of sleeping and I actually like it. Everyone who knows me knows how much I love my sleep. I’m no different about that now than I was fifteen years ago. I love to sleep. But when the ideas are coming to me so rapidly I don’t want to put them off at the risk of losing them forever. There has to be a balance. I just don’t know what it is. Until I find it I’m going to have to choose one or the other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

